Call for Papers

Thank you for your interest in submitting to CEAR. The submission deadline for Volume 8 (Spring 2015) is Friday, March 20, 2015. In order to be considered for publication, submissions must comply with CEAR's Eligibility & Guidelines. After reviewing Eligibility & Guidelines and the information below, please click "submit" above for further instructions.

Submissions must be original research articles relating to East Asia and/or Southeast Asia. CEAR will consider articles from any disciplinary background.

The countries and regions of East Asia, as defined by CEAR, are China (and all five autonomous regions: Guangxi, Inner Mongolia, Ningxia, Tibet, and Xinjiang), Hong Kong, Japan, Korea, Macau, Mongolia, Taiwan, and Vietnam. The countries and regions of Southeast Asia include Brunei, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Papua New Guinea, The Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, and Timor-Leste. Articles addressing interregional issues between East/Southeast Asian and non-East Asian countries are welcomed.

There is no length requirement; however, published articles are typically between 15 and 40 double-spaced pages when submitted. All submissions are reviewed and evaluated anonymously before being selected for publication. Papers selected undergo intensive editing, which involves significant communication between the editorial board and the author. Work previously written for classroom or individual use may be submitted.