Advisory Committee

The Advisory Commmittee of CEAR is composed of Columbia University professors and researchers representing a wide array of disciplinary and geographic specialties. Advisors serve as a consultative resource for the Editorial Board during the peer-review process.

Charles Armstrong

Assistant Professor of Korean History

Robert Barnett

Senior Research Scholar, Lecturer

Myron Cohen

Professor of Anthropology; Director, Weatherhead East Asian Institute

Gerald Curtis

Burgess Professor of Political Science; Director, Toyota Research Program

Carol Gluck

George Sansom Professor of History; Director, Studies of the Weatherhead East Asian Institute; Director, Asia Perspectives Series, Weatherhead East Asian Institute

Theodore Hughes

Assistant Professor of Korean Literature

Donald Keene

University Professor Emeritus; Shincho Professor Emeritus

David Lurie

Assistant Professor of Japanese History and Literature

Max Moerman

Associate Professor, Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Cultures Barnard College

Andrew Nathan

Professor of Political Science; Chair, Political Science Department

Morris Rossabi

Associate Professor of Early Chinese and Inner Asian History

Robert Thurman

Jey Tsong Khapa Professor of Indo-Tibetan Buddhist Studies; Chair, Religion Department

Gray Tuttle

Leila Hadley Luce Professor of Modern Tibetan Studies, department of East Asian Languages and Cultures

Guobin Yang

Associate Professor, Department of Asian and Middle Eastern Cultures, Barnard College

Madeleine Zelin

Professor of History and East Asian Languages and Cultures; Director, Columbia East Asian National Resource Center